Me Oh My! Pie!

blueberries put wrinkles on your brain! Wrinkles make you smarter!

blueberries put wrinkles on your brain! Wrinkles make you smarter!

I am going back to my roots people! The first thing I ever learned to bake was a French Apple Pie in Mrs. Davis’ 8th grade Home Ec class. Apple pies are “my thing” every year without fail for Thanksgiving I’m in charge of dessert and I always make at least one apple pie. This time I went a little different then just traditional apple, I went apple blueberry! Since I was going home for Father’s Day I really want to make my Dad something that he wouldn’t reprimand me for being “too sugary” or….whatever hahaha. This really is the easiest, quickest pie you can make next to pumpkin…Just peel and slice (some say dice the apples but I like my apple chunks to be huge haha) granny smith apples. Mix with some lemon juice and a little bit of sugar. Then take either frozen or fresh blueberries toss them in a little more sugar and top them over the apples, not mixing with the apples, just layer on top. I topped of the pie with a lattice crust. Not my finest crust, but I was nice and crispy when it came out of the oven. Seriously I probably only used about 2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar total. One of them being brown sugar. You could substitute Splenda instead!P8160231

Happy Father's Day!

Happy Father's Day!

Leave a Reply

